Los momentos más bonitos de Mexico - Reisverslag uit Monterrey, Mexico van Dedde Staps - WaarBenJij.nu Los momentos más bonitos de Mexico - Reisverslag uit Monterrey, Mexico van Dedde Staps - WaarBenJij.nu

Los momentos más bonitos de Mexico

Door: Dedde Staps

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Dedde

29 December 2014 | Mexico, Monterrey

Hmm, hard one this... I was on holidays in Mexico and I was thinking of my best and most beautiful moments of living in Mexico. This question has been asked to me a lot of times by my Mexican friends the last days and I started thinking about it.
One is my first Mexican beach experience. Conexion beach festival in Puerto Vallarta, drinking out of coconuts, afterwards chopping them to be able to eat the coconut, partying with all of my new friends, making new friends, creating a Mexican family and riding on a quat. What a memory! A lot of things began there, on that beautiful beach which ended in a less beautiful night, being robbed... Well, everyone warned me for that: Mexico is dangerous! Yes it can be, but I never felt unsafe here in Mexico. Bad things can happen, also in my city back home.
Next memory, just after the beach festival: my first wedding, even a Mexican one! Thanks Luis for taking me there, it was a great experience! :) Mariachi, new people, being dressed up in a very nice dress and trying to understand the vows in the Mexican church. The party was incredible, a night to remember.
Next. Seeing my teacher and friend Dirk again. This was really cool. Both sad with pain in our stomachs, saw eachother after three years and jumped into eachothers arms. We told eachother our stories and stomach pains, ate Mexican food, danced, got drunk and had a very, very good weekend. Our stomach pains were gone and friends were made. Not to forget, all this happened in one of the - I believe - most beautiful cities of Mexico, Guanajuato.

What else? Well what pops into my mind now is seeing a part of my family again. I remember everyone in Monterrey and San Pedro knew my sister, mom and dad would arrive and my sister would join for parties. That changed, even my mom joined a party! I think she was shocked but she probably thought it was kind of fun, she drank tequila and danced with my friends. I showed my sister and mom around and found out there is not much to do in Monterrey, haha!
I also know I was really looking forward for my dad to arrive and you can ask my Willempie, I kept on texting him if he would be on time to go to the airport. And ok, Dutch - Argentinian communication... We arrived too late so my dad was already outside of the airport. Woops! He had a good trip, walked around the super warm - ahum, 5 degrees - Mexican city by himself and went again to the airport with me, to go to Guadalajara. I really liked this city as well! First, it was warm (yeah, Monterrey and weather...), it is the second biggest city of Mexico but you don't notice that, the people are nice, you have sidewalks and the tequila is the best. I think my dad also enjoyed drinking tequila at 11 in the morning haha!

What more? Ah! My nomination for 'most liked girl' of ISE, super cool. I appreciate that guys, thanks :) I didn't win the award though, but I don't care, being nominated is already a lot. And of course, the Posada was a good night as always.

The last weeks were 'muy bueno', especially the Crazy Kitchen Race Vol. 3, genious night. I won't tell what happened, the guys I was with know what I'm talking about. Thanks Luigi, Yan and Thil!
Besides that, a looooot of parties, as usual, to celebrate ehm, what again? Birthdays, finals over and saying goodbye.

Oh woops, almost forgot the reason why I was here in Mexico. Hahaha no joke, I really liked to be a student of UDEM for a semester, eventhough I still think it's pretty annoying to need to show your ID every day to the security to show you are a student at UDEM. I just had my ID for one week, after that it was stolen, so my sentence of every morning was 'Hola, no tengo un ID, soy de intercambio'. Easy as that, I even told my sister so she could enter school as well. Nice security yes...
I had five courses at school and a lot of work for the television courses. Sometimes it was a little bit too much, then 'the Dutchies' were still awake at two in the night, but we survived, we have good grades. I also have good grades for Spanish and photography, I think I did learn some things. I'm able to have a conversation in Spanish, I can even use the subjuntivo and explain my Mexican roomies what this is, and I'm able to know when to lower the shutter speed of the camera for better photos. Nice!

Now I'm back in Monterrey for my last day, after traveling in my own country. I was together with my European friends. I flew from Monterrey to Acapulco - the place of Acapulco Shore yes - three weeks ago. Then we rent a car and started our roadtrip, via Puerto Escondido to the city Oaxaca de Juárez, Xalapa and Veracruz. From Veracruz we took the bus to Yucatán, to Mérida. The Mayan culture is very nice and different than any other, and we saw the beautiful piramids in Chichén Itza. From that place we went to Cancún, Playa del Carmen and Tulum for Christmas.
The last weekend in Monterrey is weird. Almost no one here, all the exchange are students gone, just a couple of Mexicans left. Our last days included Casa Morelos, Trece Lunas and Barneys. Tomorrow Iness and I will fly back home, to Holland. Hopefully we will arrive European time and don't let our families wait for us.

That was it, five months Mexico, it's been a wonderful travel, viaje, reis. I hope I can go back to this country very soon, to see all my friends and these beautiful Mexican cities and playas. See you in some days!

Besos y abrazos

  • 29 December 2014 - 08:15

    Joep:

    Great story, Dedde! And a great experience. See you soon.

  • 30 December 2014 - 15:59

    Coby:

    Hoi Deddita
    .... en voor je het weet zit je weer aan de boerentoppies :) Platgewalst en geknuffeld door Pouh en Bo en de rest vd familie. Zie maar weer te wennen. Dank voor je verslagen! Besos.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Mexico, Monterrey

Dedde

Studeren in Monterrey, Mexico

Actief sinds 04 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1296
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4346

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 29 December 2014

Monterrey, Mexico

Landen bezocht: